Summer on my mind

Hello again,

It’s been a while since I wrote last I’m afraid. My decluttering has brought to light some interesting bits and bobs – amongst them a booklet of beautiful summer crochet patterns, “Crochet: Southern Comfort” by Twilley’s. Now, I know that I don’t usually make garments but one look at these designs had me hankering for a couple of these tops. I think it’s all to do with my passion for lace and crochet motifs.

My disappointment to find that Southern Comfort cotton had been discontinued turned to delight when I found the website A Woolly Tail selling their last 100g balls at £1.50 each – a bargain not to be missed!

summery colours of Southern Comfort

summery colours of Southern Comfort

So, I have started the top and in spite of a couple of shaping issues it is progressing well. The motifs are fun to do; it’s great how they join together to make a lovely fabric

Single motif

Single motif

one strip of motifs

one strip of motifs

I think the upper part of the top must be what is referred to as filet crochet which I have never attempted before.

armhole shaping

armhole shaping

One of my Christmas treats was some yarn from Liberty’s and so last week – on the day of the tube strike, coincidentally – we set off. The day proved a bit of a challenge with all the transport issues but Liberty’s was every bit as beautiful as it had appeared in the TV series shown last autumn. Every floor is a designer’s paradise and the displays are quite stunning.

Hooked now on summer crochet I selected Rowan’s Holiday Crochet and Panama yarn for another top …….. love the feel, colour and sheen of this cotton / linen mix.

love the sheen on this cotton/linen blend

love the sheen on this cotton/linen blend

fascinating ply

fascinating ply

I couldn’t resist the colours of Rowan’s very unusual thick and thin yarn either since I was being treated!

yummy colours

yummy colours

could look good crocheted with string

could look good crocheted with string

It looks as if it will work well woven with parcel string into crocheted storage containers …. but more of that next time.

Jenny x

Leave a Reply

